I came across an interesting post today.  I believe it accurately depicts the pressures we, as educators, face on a daily basis.  The post is an open letter to the next president-elect.

Dear Mr. Soon-to-be-President,

I’m a teacher and I’m tired.

Does that surprise you? Do you find it hard to believe that a guy who works “only 180 days a year” can be wiped out by November? Is it hard to believe that teaching can be exhausting?

It shouldn’t.

On top of the daily challenge of planning, instructing, assessing, remediating, and enriching to meet the individual needs of the 85-plus children that roll through my classroom each day, I wrestle with the constant mental pressure applied by a country caught in the grips of a “crisis mentality.

http://teacherleaders.typepad.com/the_tempered_radical/2008/11/letter-to-the-next-president.html

