The back-to-school buzz is getting louder and louder. Back-to-school advertisements are everywhere, school meetings are being scheduled, school emails are flowing, and teacher talk is now centering on what needs to be accomplished from now to the start of the year.

I am not ready for this. This was my first summer I didn’t spend my entire summer on school-related activities, i.e. summer school, summer projects, conferences, etc. I thoroughly enjoyed it; I was able to visit family, travel, create and update this website, write updates to my book, and simply slow-down and enjoy the beautiful Seattle weather. It allowed me to recharge, develop fresh ideas for the classroom, and explore other passions. Because I have been teaching for sometime, I know that in a week or two I will be ready to start teaching, but, in the meantime, I am going to continue enjoying my summer vacation!

